Not Quite, but Close Enough


It will come to me in a tide
slowly crawling up my ankles
back and forth
higher and higher
’til the fish nibble at my toes.

I will focus on those memory fish
darting back and forth
staying still long enough only
to catch a glimpse
and sink lower and lower.

I may not get their colour right
and they get bigger with each retelling
but I remember the feel of its teeth
the brush of its scales
well enough for inspiration.

And maybe there are fewer clouds
in my rendition
smelling more like salt than rotting kelp
but I will catch my wonderment
just right.

It’s not quite the truth,
but it’s close enough.

© chris DINGLEY 2012

Leave a Reply

