HAIKU collection – March & April


we are a mess of
these heart-stopping confessions
that we’ll never say

.

what have i become
in the cocoon of my skull
what wings have unfurled?

..

the snow lingers here
but the summer in my heart
blinds me to the cold

I wield you ‘gainst foes
use you as bait on a lure
or a healing balm

….

a one-eyed doll screams
“do you want to play with me?”
no, I really don’t

…..

remember that you
are the descendant of stars
and are full of fire

……

who’ll remember us
when we have erased ourselves
from the inside out

…….

i hold ancient wealth
in the orbit of my palms:
dry leaves, refined root

……..

once we’re ground to dust
under time’s relentless wheel
then our hurts will mend

………

i love you my friend
with my heart and with my soul
but not with passion

……….

when the air is thick
with fog that sticks in your lungs
i will breathe deeply

………..

an ashen perfume
combing through the sunny hair
of a spring morning

…………

the top of your head
smells like a lazy morning
under soft covers

………….

the sloping curved bars
of this cage that ne’er opens
hiding a red bird

……………

bear the weight of days
on the ramparts of your back
until nothing breathes

……………

watch how we transform
this flesh into bones, drowned black
for a pointed crown

© chris DINGLEY 2014

Leave a Reply

