Newton’s First Law


Sometimes, late at night,
the empty roads remind me of space
and I am roaring past the stars
towards a supernova.

Sometimes, late at night,
I listen to the rain on the roof
and I wonder if it’s a message
some divine Morse Code.

Sometimes, late at night,
I try to fall asleep on my back
so I can wake up with my heart pounding
from an impossible fall.

Sometimes, late at night,
I listen to my dog chuff in her sleep
and I wonder if my sleep
leaves words on my lips.

Sometimes, late at night,
I dream with my eyes open of tomorrow
but that only leaves my bed sheets
on my floor in the morning.

Sometimes, late at night,
I just can’t sleep.

© chris DINGLEY 2012

Leave a Reply

