cardio-vascularity


I feel the rhythm in my neck
my chest my thighs my wrists
the rush of haemoglobin
the pressure of plasma
in my brain

Oh life!
I live on a tide of oxygen
brushing through my veins
defying gravity
rushing out at incredible speed
to my lips
the tiny pools in my fingertips
oceans in my feet
the water tower in my brain

Love collects
in the atrium
slithers and waits in the ventricle
for a mighty push
once
twice
tha-thump
back out again
to pick up the fire in my lungs
the notes encoded in my brain
(love letters, wonderment, defeat)
the great red telegraph

I listen to my life at rest
never truly resting
dancing to its own beat
I dance with my pulse

tha-thump
tha-thump
tha-thump

© christine DINGLEY 2011

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

