| m | e | n | a | g | e | r | i | e |


Cagepaws

Image by Rick Hobson via Flickr

the bars of panic close in fast and bind me with

gorilla

strength I cannot breathe and pull a

hare

from my throat I cannot speak and pry the

bobcat

from my tongue I cannot eat and wrest the

serpent

from my guts and expel from my stomach the

moths

I have no courage and pry open my ribcage to smother the

songbird

that flaps wildly there I cannot be still and pick the

salamanders

that burn under my skin I cannot sleep and crush the

beetles

in my marrow I am weak and spear the

piranhas

that eat my flesh I cannot concentrate and shoot the

monkey

that bounces in my brain I cannot stop shaking and snap the

eels

that shock me but still I am not free from this cage

© christine DINGLEY 2011

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

