e x o d u s


 

leaving

Image by lanchongzi via Flickr

 

I’m leaving.
I don’t want to, but I must.
It’s the visions,
the thoughts,
the black tar
that sticks
to my insides and burns
my smiles.

I retreat
in the search of healing
at the foot
of Yggdrasil
so its roots
may flay
open my flesh to pry the lead
from my bones.

I depart
and strip the walls bare
of memories
to pierce
my breast.
I shed tears
and sorrow, longing, an invisible trail
of blood.

Maybe the ink will bleed out too.

(c) christine DINGLEY 2011

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

